Seattle! A trip home

Last week I made the trip all the way to Seattle for my high school reunion. It has been a little over 3 years since I’ve been home and boy have I missed it. The first part of the week, I spent mostly in the University District catching up with friends from graduate school and eating at my favorite restaurants.

For the weekend of my reunion, I stayed downtown. On Sunday morning, I woke up super early – thank you time change! – and took these photos.

Sign at Pike Place Market

The famous Pike Place Market sign in early morning. The stall owners were still setting up and unpacking all teh things.

Someone added details to one of the statues at WestlakeSomeone added detail to a few of the statues in the non-square square next to Westlake mall. The mustache and heart are not original features.

Seattle has a history of decorating people statues around the city. Perhaps the most famous is the group of several people in Fremont that is frequently costumed.

As far as costumes go, the heart and mustache is rather impromptu looking.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Left Bank Books - Pike Place MarketLeft Bank Books is a bookstore in Pike Place Market. Since it was early, the bookstore was still closed, but I did see a display of children’s books in the window. The display had Where The Sidewalk Ends, The Lorax, and The Little Squatters’ Handbook.

 
 
 
 
 
 

Sign for new city Target located by Pike Place Market Target plopped a City Target downtown a few blocks off Pike Place Market. Also closed early in the morning, but the sign showed 3 levels of shopping, including the ground floor full of groceries. Until this City Target appeared, I had to drive north of the city to Northgate for Target goodness. A friend told me the Target is a bit smaller than the suburban Targets but that it has a little bit of everything.

Target is on my list of top 10 things I miss about the good old US of A.

About megan

working in between travel days
This entry was posted in United States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

